Background – what is FAI? (Femoro acetabular impingement syndrome)

Like anyone I guess, as soon as I was diagnosed by my surgeon with FAI I wanted to find out as much about it as I could. Of course, there’s a plethora of information on Google. My advice is – where you can – limit the research you do on the web and listen to your surgeon and medical team.  So much of what you find on the web is not verified.

In the meantime, here’s the best description I found and a couple of links:

Femoroacetabular impingement (FAI) is a condition where the bones of the hip are abnormally shaped. Because they do not fit together perfectly, the hip bones rub against each other and cause damage to the joint.

Link 1 (verified for safety)

Link 2: http://hipjointsurgery.co.uk/hips/hip-impingement/

a00571f01

 

Leave a Reply

